Biosafety act

The Biosafety Act

Swaziland has enacted her Biosafety Law i.e. The Biosafety Act (2012). The Biosafety Act establishes the institutional arrangements for regulation of modern biotechnologies in Swaziland. The range of activities and classes of GMOs that are covered by the Act are as follows:classes

The Biosafety Act has been made available on the BCH in line with the requirements of Article 20 of the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety.


Swaziland has also drafted her Biosafety regulations.

Regional and Sub-regional Cooperation

Swaziland is a member of the Southern African Development Community (SADC), The Southern African Customs Union (SACU) and the Common Market for East and Southern Africa (COMESA). COMESA has drafted a policy on Biotechnology and Biosafety